Are you sure you did not mix up the pictures? This is strange.
No. when you lose skills, it's back to the last time you logged in.
The work around that seems to work for me is when you get to the area you want to hunt/pick at relog (to get rid of the bugs you picked up traveling there - see below). Then relog every 30 minutes or so (because you'll sometimes lose them on a crash also) and one final time before you leave the area (cause you will lose them if you cross zone boundaries into a bugged zone).
My best guess as to what's going on here is that objects and skills are kept in different kinds of databases. Objects (and modifications to objects such as decay) become permanent as soon as they are spawned. Skills, ranks, and such are in a temporary database that is constantly updating until you log out, at which point it becomes permanent. If you crash before logging out, or cross into, out of, or through a bugged zone before logging out they are wiped. That may not be precisely what's going on, but it fits my experience pretty well.
So, think of relogging as the equivalent of saving the game in a single player game. And, save early and often
